Wir respektieren
deine Privatsphäre!

Cookie-Einstellungen

Indem du auf „Einverstanden” klickst, stimmst du der Verwendung von Cookies und anderen Technologien (von uns sowie anderen vertrauenswürdigen Partnern) zu. Wir verwenden diese für anonyme Statistikzwecke, Komforteinstellungen und zur Anzeige von personalisierten Inhalten und Anzeigen. Dies dient dazu dir ein verbessertes Website-Erlebnis bieten zu können. Mehr darüber findest du in unseren Datenschutzbestimmungen | Impressum

  • Diese Cookies sind für den Betrieb der Seite unbedingt notwendig und ermöglichen beispielsweise sicherheitsrelevante Funktionalitäten. Außerdem werden mit dieser Art von Cookies z.B. Ihre getroffenen Einstellungen zu Cookies gespeichert.

  • Um unser Angebot und unsere Webseite weiter zu verbessern, erfassen wir anonymisierte Daten für Statistiken und Analysen. Mithilfe dieser Cookies können wir beispielsweise die Besucherzahlen und den Effekt bestimmter Seiten unseres Web-Auftritts ermitteln und unsere Inhalte optimieren.

  • Wir nutzen diese Cookies, um dir die Bedienung der Seite zu erleichtern. So kannst du beispielsweise auf Basis einer vorherigen Unterkunftssuche bei einem erneuten Besuch unserer Webseite komfortabel auf diese zurückgreifen.

  • Diese Cookies werden genutzt, um dir personalisierte Inhalte, passend zu deinen Interessen anzuzeigen. Somit können wir dir Angebote präsentieren, die für dich und deine geplante Reise besonders relevant sind.

Stuibenfall

Der größte Wasserfall Tirols

Über insgesamt 159 Meter und zwei Steilstufen stürzt der „Horlachbach“ von Niederthai kommend ins Tal, meterhoch ragen die Wasserfahnen in den Himmel. Diese Wasserstaub-Wolken geben dem gewaltigen Naturschauspiel auch seinen Namen: Stuibenfall.

Der Wasserstaub erfreut die Besucher mit seiner natürlich, erfrischenden Wirkung, darüber hinaus fördert er auch noch die Gesundheit. Auch wissenschaftlich ist die positive Wirkung bewiesen, ganz besonders nah ist man dem ‚Wasserstaub‘ auf der Ionenplattform.

Das Naturschauspiel

Eine Wege- und Stufenkonstruktion macht den Stuibenfall hautnah erleb- und begehbar. Über ca. 700 Stufen und über eine exponierte, 80 Meter lange Hängebrücke erreichen Wanderer und Bergsportler, vorbei an Aussichtsplattformen und an den tosenden Wassermassen, den Ausgangspunkt des Wasserfalles in Niederthai. Eine einzigartige Alpenflora verleiht dem Stuibenfall ein würdiges Ambiente und an sonnigen Tagen setzt oft ein großer Regenbogen einen bunten Höhepunkt, den kein Besucher so schnell vergisst.

 

Die Geschichte

Alles beginnt vor gut 9.800 Jahren. Die kilometerhohen Gletscher der Eiszeit haben sich vom Tal zurückgezogen und hinterlassen eine Landschaft voller Gefahren: Lose Gesteinsmassen, Geröll und zerklüftete Gebirgsflanken. Dann taut der Permafrost langsam auf und lässt zwei Drittel des Berges samt Gipfel in das Tal hinunter stürzen. Gewaltige Massen werden bewegt, türmen sich zum sogenannten „Tauferberg“ und versperren dem Gebirgsbach aus dem „Horlachtal“ seinen Lauf. Auf seiner Suche nach einem neuen Weg ins Tal entsteht der Stuibenfall – Mit 159 m der größte Wasserfall Tirols.

 

Aufenthalt am Stuibenfall steigert die Lungenfunktion

Eine präklinische Studie der Paracelsus Medizinischen Privatuniversität Salzburg belegt, dass sich die Lungenfunktion im Fall von Sportlerasthma durch den Aufenthalt am Wasserfall wesentlich verbessert. Ein einstündiger Aufenthalt am Stuibenfall, über zwei bis drei Wochen, kann die Lungenfunktion bei Sportasthma um bis zu 58 Prozent verbessern.

Stuibenfall Umhausen Landschaft Panorama
Stuibenfall Umhausen Wandern Panorama Ötztal

Das Wanderparadies

Die Wanderung zum Fuße des Stuibenfalls dauert vom Parkplatz Bischoffsplatz aus ca. 0,5 – 1 h. Bis dorthin ist der Weg auch für Kinder sowie Kinderwagen und Buggys bestens geeignet. Dort angekommen, erleben Sie auf den beiden direkt am Wasserfall gelegenen Plattformen die geballte Kraft der herabtosenden Wassermassen.

In der Mitte des Wanderweges befindet sich eine exponierte 80 Meter lange Hängebrücke. Über die ca. 700 Stufen gelangt der Wanderer weiter hinauf zur obersten Aussichtsplattform.

Auf einer fixierten Hängebrücke im oberen Bereich queren Sie das Naturschauspiel, erleben fantastische Blicke in die Tiefe und gelangen zur höchsten Plattform, welche in schwindelerregender Höhe das Erlebnis Stuibenfall in seiner gesamten Einzigartigkeit abrundet.

Direkt an der Niederthaier Landesstraße (6 km bergauf) ist der Stuibenfall von der leicht zugänglichen Panoramaaussichtsplattform zu sehen.

Die Kletterarena

Der Stuibenfall ist auch ein Höhepunkt für alle Klettersportler. Links und direkt neben den stürzenden Wassermassen ist ein familienfreundlicher Klettersteig angelegt. Erstklassig abgesichert und im unteren bis mittleren Schwierigkeitsbereich ein einzigartiges Erlebnis für die gesamte Familie. Auf einer Länge von ungefähr 450 Metern können auch Kinder ab 10 Jahren das Naturschauspiel Stuibenfall bei Umhausen „erklettern“.

Wagemutige queren den Wasserfall auf beinahe unsichtbaren Drahtseilen direkt vor der natürlichen Steinbrücke. Ungeübte haben die Möglichkeit bei einer geführten Tour mit erfahrenen und geprüften Bergführern teilzunehmen. Die Ausrüstung kann in Umhausen und Niederthai gemietet werden.

Stuibenfall Umhausen Klettern Landschaft Ötztal
Stuibenfall Umhausen Nacht Landschaft Ötztal

Beleuchteter Stuibenfall & Laternenwanderung

Der Stuibenfall wird ganzjährig jeden Mittwoch beleuchtet.
Ab Mitte Juni finden geführte Laternenwanderungen zum beleuchteten Wasserfall statt.

Treffpunkt der Wanderung
20:30 Uhr vor der Information Umhausen bzw. Niederthai

Kosten & Anmeldung
Erwachsene € 10,00
Kinder bis 14 Jahre frei!

Anmeldung bis Mittwoch 17.00 Uhr unter www.oetztal.com/erlebnisse, im Ötztal Inside Guide oder in der Information Umhausen-Niederthai dringend erforderlich!
T +43 (0) 57200 400 oder umhausen@oetztal.com

We respect your
right to privacy!

Cookie settings

By clicking on "Accept" , you consent to use cookies and other technologies (provided by us and other trusted partners). We use such data for anonymous statistical purposes, tailor-made settings and to display personalized content and advertisements. It will help to provide you with an improved website experience. Please find out more about this topic in our Privacy Policy | Imprint

  • These cookies are absolutely necessary for the operation of this site and enable safety related functionalities, for example. Additionally, this type of cookie is as well used to save your personal cookie settings.

  • In order to further improve both our offer and website, we collect anonymized data for statistics and analyzes. By means of these cookies we can, for example, analyze the number of visitors and the effect of certain pages on our website by optimizing our content.

  • We use these cookies to improve usability of the site for you. For example, based on an accommodation search you already made, you can conveniently access the same lodging when you visit our website again.

  • These cookies are used to display personalized content that matches your interests. It enables us to provide you with offers that are particularly relevant to your personally planned trip.

Stuibenfall Waterfall

Tirol's biggest waterfall

Scenic "Horlachbach" brook rushes down from Niederthai into the valley from a height of 159 meters. The several meter-high area filled with water crystals can be seen from far. These clouds of water dust particles also gave the name to the "Stuibenfall".

The water particles are said to have refreshing and varied other positive effects on the hikers' health. The positive effect is scientifically proven, especially close to the water dust you are on the ion platform.

Nature Spectacle

A hiking trail and stair construction allows you to experience the "Stuibenfall" at close range. Hikers and mountaineers pass the viewing platforms and the roaring waters via approx. 700 steps and an exposed 80 meter long suspension bridge leading to Niederthai - the origin of the waterfall. What's more, the wonderful Alpine flora in the falls' surroundings is a highlight not to be missed. And with a bit of luck, on sunny days you also have the chance to admire the most colorful rainbows.

 

History

The whole story starts some 9800 years ago. The mighty glacier fields of the Ice Age move back, leaving behind a rough mountain valley full of hazards: loose masses of rock, rubbles and rugged mountain flanks. Slowly the permafrost soil begins to thaw, at least two thirds of the mountain peaks are crashing down into the valley. Incredible masses of soil and rock form the "Tauferberg" area by barricading the mountain brook coming down from "Horlachtal" valley. As always, the water finds its own way and all of a sudden the "Stuibenfall" emerge - Tirol's biggest waterfall with a height of 159 meters.

 

Stopover at the "Stuibenfall" increases pulmonary function

Pre-hospital studies of Salzburg's Paracelsus Private University prove that sportsmen suffering from asthma can improve their pulmonary function if they spend some time in vicinity to the waterfall. One hour daily at the "Stuibenfall", during two or three weeks, helps sport induced asthma sufferers to increase their pulmonary function up to 58 percent.

Stuibenfall Waterfall Umhausen Landscape Panorama

Hiking Paradise

The scenic walk to the bottom of the "Stuibenfall" takes about 0.5 – 1 hr from the car park at Bischoffsplatz. Until there it is perfectly suitable also for prams or baby buggies. Experience the full force of the rushing mountain waters while standing on the two vantage platforms located right next to the falls.

In the middle of the trail there is an exposed 80 meter long suspension bridge. Via approx. 700 steps the hikers reache the highest viewing platform. On your way to the highest platform you cross the falls on a secured suspension bridge, offering uninterrupted panoramic views of the gorge. Admire the breathtaking "Stuibenfall" from a dizzy height high above the ground. A real highlight not to be missed! Right from the federal road to Niederthai (6 km long, rising road) you can easily access the panoramic platform overlooking the Stuibenfall.

Stuibenfall Waterfall Umhausen Hiking Panorama

Climbing Arena

Also for passionate climbing fans the "Stuibenfall" makes a wonderful spot. On the left, right next to the rushing waters, sportsmen fi nd a recently installed and family-friendly via ferrata. It is perfectly secured and of intermediate diffi culty – a wonderful experience for the whole family. On a length of approximately 450 meters young climbers over 10 years can explore the "Stuibenfall" for themselves on a rope.

Real dare devils cross the falls on almost invisible steel ropes in vicinity to the natural stone bridge. Less experienced climbers should join one of the guided tours with a certified mountain guide. The appropriate climbing equipment is available for rent in Umhausen and Niederthai.

Stuibenfall Waterfall Umhausen Climbing Landscape

Floodlit "Stuibenfall" & Lantern Walking Tour

The "Stuibenfall" is floodlight every Wednesday throughout the year. From mid-June you can join guided lantern walking tours towards the floodlit waterfall.

Meeting Point
08:30 pm in front of the Information Office Umhausen or Niederthai

Costs & Booking
Adults € 10.00; Free admission for children under 14 years

Advance booking required via www.oetztal.com/experiences,  the Ötztal Inside Guide or at the Umhausen-Niederthai Information Office until Wednesday, 5.00 pm! T +43 (0) 57200 400 or umhausen@oetztal.com

Flyer Laternenwanderung Umhausen

Flyer Laternenwanderung Niederthai

Stuibenfall Waterfall Umhausen Night Landscape

Stuiben Breathwork: Breathe in the power at Tirol's biggest waterfall

Stay in the here and now: give your body and mind a breathing pause and take the e-shuttle service to the Stuiben Falls in comfort. During a special breathing technique program, you will feel the soothing effects of the meter-high clouds of water spray.

 

Infos:

  • When: 23.06. – 22.09.2022
  • Day: every Thursday 06:30 am – 07:30 am & 07:30 am – 08:30 am
  • Meet here: Information Office Umhausen

 

Good to know:

  • The event takes place in all weathers
  • Equipment: outdoor clothing, rain jacket
  • Maximum number of participants per tour: 8 people
  • Also suitable for wheelchair users

Price:

Regular rate: € 28.00
For holders of Ötztal Inside Card : € 19.60

Registration:

Register via the Adventure Shop by 5:30 pm the day before